HomeCD ReviewsPress ReleasesAbout UsVideo InterviewsPast Video Issue archivesVideo GalleryMerchandiseContact UsAdvertise With UsEMP Label Band List

Chaotic Riffs Magazine CD Review For SIXX A.M. - Modern Vintage

CD REVIEW - Review by JROCK Houston

Artist: Sixx A.M. Album

Title: Modern Vintage

Label: Eleven Seven Music

Release Year: 2014


Nikki Sixx - Bass Guitar

D.J. Ashba - Lead Guitar

James Michael - Lead Vocals/Guitar/Keyboards

eff Fabb - Drums

Track Listing

  1. 1. Stars
  2. 2. Gotta Get It Right
  3. 3. Relief
  4. 4. Get Ya Some
  5. 5. Let's Go
  6. 6. Drive
  7. 7. Give Me A Love
  8. 8. Hyperventilate
  9. 9. High On The Music
  10. 10. Miracle
  11. 11. Before It's Over

Sixx A.M. is the supergroup that was formed a few years back that's made up of Motley Crue Bassist/Songwriter: Nikki Sixx, Guns N Roses Guitarist: D.J. Ashba, and Lead Singer: James Michael. Now like on the first 2 SIXX A.M. CDs the songwriting is really strong throughout the band's latest release which is aptly titled: Modern Vintage! I love the album title because it really is very fitting....You put this CD on from start to finish and what you get is a collection of Modern Rock songs combined with Classic Rock influenced songs. I hear elements of Queen, David Bowie, Mott The Hoople, and even the Beatles throughout this entire disc. There's no filler material here...it's all just simply Killer material here! And don't get me wrong because as talented as these guys are as Songwriters they don't need to try and sound like anyone else because while SIXX A.M is a band that's just 3 albums into their career I think SIXX A.M. is one band that is really a force to be reckoned with, they're one band that just might be the benchmark in 2014 for what good music is all about! SIXX A.M. is the new standard and one band that really do deliver the goods on their latest album! My favorite track on the album I'd have to say is the first single which is "Gotta Get It Right" This is just a good time, fun Rock tune to put your fist in the air and get your Rock On if you will! This song is the sound of SIXX A.M....Listen to this song and the rest of the CD and you'll see that SIXX A.M. has finally found their sound and I dare to say this just might be the band's best album to date!